Image

Roasted Garlic and Tumeric Chickpeas

9 Mar

The non-snack snack!

So I am trying to change my diet a little by cooking and eating healthier food than I was previously consuming. When I first started at my school I didn’t have much time for anything but school and sleeping. Oh, and some socializing! I tended to pop into the shops on the way to school to pick up either some gimbab or a pastry. Although gimbab, basically a Californian roll (and ooooh so tasty) is pretty healthy, it’s not so good to buy the non fresh stuff, packed with calories and additives at the shop. The pastry says enough. I would also buy a milky coffee and maybe a juice.

Now I know that those of you who go to Starbucks every morning buy something similar to me, and I’m not saying you shouldn’t. All I’m saying is that my body did not like it, and as I teach all day I tend to need a hell of a lot of energy (yes, I am one of THOSE teachers!!!)

So slowly but surely I am cutting down of the crap and introducing healthier, home made foods – I love cooking and baking and home made is almost always better than shop bought.

My latest discovery is roasted chickpeas. A wonderfully tasty way to fill up in between meals without eating chips and chocolate. They also give energy and are very easy to make.

All you need is:
~ chickpeas (if dried, 1/2 a cup soaked over night, if canned just the whole tin) drained
~ 3 or 4 cloves of garlic
~ tumeric (or any other flavorful spice)
~ salt and pepper
~ olive oil

1. Turn your oven to 200 degrees Celsius
2. In a bowl put all your ingredients and toss to cover everything in the mixture.
3. Put onto a baking tray.
4. Roast for up to one hour.
5. Cool and eat.

It’s so simple, you can leave it in there and go about your other business!

They taste so good, and are very filling!

Leave a Reply

