Quaint floral tea towel!

23 Jan

I have recently discovered something rather interesting.

When I sew the cats sleep (well Robinson always sleeps) but when I knit I suddenly become very interesting! GoGo will chase and grab and yank. The problem being that I am almost always knitting for someone else. This means that I have to separate the two very quickly! I have already had to unpick a section of my latest project, a slightly complex knitted blanket.

So I normally enforce naps On the baby.

This also allows me to spend time with the big girl.

Anyway, I digress. Today I made a little home warming gift for my friend. She is visiting me from the south of South Korea. She is also just about to change jobs and so she gets a whole new apartment. A lovely little space with a separate bedroom and that means an actual kitchen.

So I made her a small tea towel. It can also be used as a table mat. I wanted to make her some more, but it’ll be a work in progress. It also gives me a good chance to practice my basic skills.

For this pattern I used a simple light hessian clothe and a very light cotton fabric. To copy me you can use the directions below:

You’ll need:

12″ x 30″ light hessian fabric

12″ x 6″ patterned cotton fabric

Tape measure

Pins

Sewing machine

Cotton

Iron

Ironing board

Directions

1. Wash and iron your fabrics. This will help it maintain it’s size after washing and should be more pliable to work with.

2. Place the patterned fabric on the hessian, pattern facing the outside. Work out where you would like to place it. Once you are happy where it should go, mark 1cm below the top point.

3. Turn your fabric over so that the pattern in facing away from you. Line up your fabric so that there is a 1cm seam allowance. Make sure at this point that is is straight.

4. Take the pins it one by one and repin in place with the cotton.

5. With a straight stitch sew the material together.

6. Flap the patterned material so it is facing the correct way.

7. Iron it so that it stays in place.

8. Fold and pin the top and bottom edges with a 1cm allowance for the seam. Make sure it is straight.

 

9. Sew these in place with a zigzag stitch.

10. Repeat steps 8 and 9 for the sides.

(At this point I trimmed all the excess fabric leaving a 1 or 2mm gap between the edge of the fabric and the stitching. If you get too close you might accidentally cut the stitching, leaving you frustrated and needing to start it all again!)

This is where I finished on this project. I love the slightly rough look to be honest, but if you want it to look prettier: Follow steps 8 and 9. Then trim the edges, and turn them over one more time, close to the zigzag stitching. You can leave a 1cm edge if you want, but I normally just fold it over close to the stitching. Sew using a straight stitch. And then do the same thing again on the sides.

Well folks, it’s at simple as that! Let me know how you get on. Or if anything is too confusing.

Or, if you want something like this but don’t have time/the inclination/skills…I am happy to make one for you, or walk you through it! Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

